Product Localization

Updated: April 22, 2022
Contents

    Introduction

    The Localization section of your product profile page is used to generate and manage translations for your selected product. Thus, Vendors can provide translations for the product data, allow their business partners to create additional translations, and consequently reach a wider audience.

    Note that Localization section requires you to specify the primary translation for a product defined on the Connect platform. The primary translation represents your generated translation object that is used to define your product specifications and other product data within the Connect portals and distribution systems.

    Use the Localization section to assign primary translations, activating translation objects, adding new translations, comparing translations and perform other operations. In case more information on the localization functionality is required, please refer to the Localization module documentation.

    Adding Translations

    Access your product profile page and proceed to the the Localization section to add a new translation object. Click the Add Translation button to launch a translation creation wizard.

    Follow the wizard instructions to successfully generate your required translation:

    • Language: Use this field to specify your required language.
    • Description: Provide the description for your translation object on Connect (optional).
    • Translate contents automatically: Check this checkbox to translate product attributes automatically from your specified primary language.

    Click the Add button to generate your translation object. The system also automatically translates required product attributes in case the corresponding option is selected. Otherwise, it is necessary to provide translation values manually.

    Translations Management

    Once the system successfully generates your required translations, use the provided user interface to manage your translation objects.

    Click on the vertical ellipsis () icon to open an object menu. Thereafter, select one of the following options:

    • Compare with: This option allows comparing your translation objects to identify and eliminate translation errors.
    • Clone: Enables you to duplicate your translation objects.
    • Activate: Use this option to activate your translation objects. Inactive translations cannot be used by your business partners.
    • Make Primary: Reassign your primary translation by choosing this option.
    • Delete: Remove your translation by selecting this option. The system doesn’t allow deleting your primary translation. Thus, it is required to reassign your primary translation first.

    Note that your generated translation objects are also available within the standalone Localization module on the Connect platform.

    Is this page helpful?
    Translate with Google
    Copied to clipboard