Account

Updated: November 24, 2020
Contents

The Account module enables provider or vendor staff to view and manage their account general properties, users, groups, contacts and account links.

Data Model

The business objects managed by the Account module are the current account, users, groups, permissions and account links.

Accounts

There are two types of accounts representing two types of collaborating companies or organizations:

  • Provider: an account that represents a service provider who is the owner of at least one commerce management system integrated with Connect.
  • Vendor: an account that represents a vendor of services or goods.

Users

Every account must have at least one user that can invite other users to join that account. A user can belong to several accounts, no matter whether they are providers or vendors, like in the following example:

In the above diagram, User 3 belongs to both Vendor and Provider accounts.

Creating Accounts

A provider can invite a partner that does not have an account in Connect to be a vendor or provider by signing one of the following contracts with them:

For details on creating an account refer to the respective links above.

Account Management

The Account main page looks similar in the Provider Portal and Vendor Portal. Use the left-hand side tabs to switch to one of the following screens:

  • General displays the general data about the account, such as the account ID, name and description. There is also a place to upload Media data.
  • Users displays a list of users who can access the portal as the account staff. You can add and remove users in this list.
  • Groups displays a list of groups for portal access distribution between users. You can add and remove groups in this list and manage groups permission.
  • Contacts displays two types of contacts: Business and Technical.
  • Links displays and allows to manage custom set of links.
  • Terms (available only for providers) displays the service contract used to create this account and a list of permissions on creating various agreements as described in Service Contracts.

User Management

On the Users tab of the Account main page, you can add new users or delete them from the account.

Adding Users

To add a new or existing Connect user to the account, click Add User in the top right corner and populate the user’s profile in the pop-up window:

  • Name: User’s name.
  • Email: Enter the email that will be used as the login name when the user enters into the Connect portal.
  • Group: Select appropriate groups for the user from the list.

Click Add to complete the user creation and send the invitation. Summary screen with details will be shown at the end.

Connect sends a notification with the invitation to the user. If the user is not registered in Connect yet, the notification will contain a link to the registration process. If the user already exists in Connect, this account will be available for that user immediately.

For newly invited users there are some additional options to operated with:

  • Copy invitaion link: If you would like to share it some other way instead of email.
  • Resend invitation link: resend the invitation link to user’s email address.
  • Revoke invitation: in case you need to revoke the invitation.

Removing Users

To remove a user from the account, find that user in the list, then open the menu on the right edge of the corresponding row, and select Delete:

In the pop-up window, click Delete to confirm the operation.

Note

Be aware that after completing this operation you cannot use this user credentials to manage the current account.

Managing Groups

On the Groups tab of the Account main page, you can create new groups, add existing users to the group or delete groups from the account.

Adding Groups

There is an already exising Administrators group by default. It has full list of permissions assigned which may be adjusted further if needed.

Group Permissions based on Connect modules access only. It controls modules visibility on Home screen and access to modules for the user.

To add a new group to the account, click Add Group in the top right corner and configure the Group properties and permissions in the pop-up window:

  • General: defines group Name, Color marker in UI, Description and (optional) External ID.
  • Permissions: select appropriare group permissions depending on group functions.
  • Users: select available account users.
  • Summary: shows final summary screen for review.

Removing Groups

To remove a group from the account, find that group in the list, then open the menu on the right edge of the corresponding row, and select Delete:

In the pop-up window, click Delete to confirm the operation. Keep in mind, all users must belong to at least one group.

On the same screen you may Add users into group as well.

Contacts

Technical contacts

The Technical Contacts list includes the person(s) account owners have determined to be the best point of contact in the event some technical issues arise. These contacts will be visible to your partners who have an active contractual relationship with your account.

Business contacts

The Business Contacts list includes the person(s) account owners have determined to be the best point of contact in the event some business issues/questions arise. These contacts will be visible to your partners who have an active contractual relationship with your account.

Links

This section purposed for customizing Home screen for the Account. Once a link is added it’s available on the Home screen of the Account for all users of the Account.

Add link

Adding a new link is available through Add Link button. Just follow the wizard for proper link definition.

  • Name: defines link name which will be visible for users.
  • Image: media image for the link (the image will be resized to 64×64 pixels)
  • Description: short description for the reference.
  • Scope:

My account: The link will be visible for the users of this account.
Vendors: The link will be visible to all users of all Vendor accounts with an active Program Contract link to this account.
Providers: The link will be visible to all users of all Provider accounts with an active Service Contract link to this account.

  • HTTP settings: defines link URL (requires https:// protocol) and request method GET or POST.
  • JWT secret: defined when JWT secret is in use for URL.
  • Details: shows link details screen from where you may open link, disable/enable or remove that link from the Account.

As soon as the link is added and active it will be shown on the Home Account screen for a quick access.

Managing Own User Profile

A user can edit their own profile by performing the following steps.

1. Open the user profile

To open the user profile, click View Profile in the top right corner:

2. Edit personal information and settings

In the Personal Information and Personal Settings panes, edit personal parameters as necessary:

3. Manage notifications

On the Email Notification Settings pane, select whether you want to receive email notifications:

Is this page helpful?
Translate with Google
Copied to clipboard